OKG's three reactors

OKG owns and operates three boiling water reactors (BWR), Oskarhamns 1, 2 and 3, which are often referred to as O1, O2 and O3. The reactors began commercial operation in 1972, 1974 and 1985, respectively. The three reactors combined produce ten per cent of Sweden's electricity, with a net capacity of 2 511 MW.

At an extraordinary shareholders' meeting held in October 2015, OKG's majority owner upheld their policy decision on the premature shutdown of units O1 and O2. The decision entails that there will be no future investments at unit O2 and the reactor will not be restarted. The closure of O1 will commence in the end of June 2017.


Facts about the reactors


Startup: 1972
Net electrical output: 473 MW


Startup: 1974
Net electrical output: 638 MW


Startup: 1985
Net electrical output: 1,400 MW


Page updated Wednesday, July 20, 2016